I’m a big fan of jumping pictures. This time, I managed to jump my way onto Canon’s Facebook and their Instagram feed! I’ve clearly peaked in life. 

Last Tuesday, I was sitting around at home watching Daredevil when my friend Erin called me, telling me about a Canon event she was attending that evening in Brooklyn. I wasn’t sure I could even get in (signed up for a waitlist) and I had no idea what to expect, but turns out people don’t care who you are if you’re at the door. 

Canon had a bunch of cameras for us to play with for the night, and we got a T6i. Currently, I shot with my T3i and haven’t used a stock lens since I broke mine April of 2014. Therefore the effects of playing with a new camera was less exciting with a stock (and f/3.5-5.6) in a dark bowling alley, although the camera does go up to ISO12800. The best part was the built in wi-fi and remote access, although it took me a while to figure out how to switch between using the on camera buttons and my phone. 

Overall, the event was a lot of fun, especially since everything was free. Free bowling shoes, free bowling, free appetizers (I think I ate 7 chicken wings), free drinks… I really like free things as you can tell. Even cooler, we had an awesome conversation with one of Erin’s Instagram heroes, Amy Stone

Thanks, Erin, for bringing me to the event and showing me more of the city 🙂 

Leave a Reply

